Special Transportation Fund (STF)

About the Special Transportation Fund (STF)

The Special Transportation Fund (STF) was created in 1985 by the Oregon Legislature. The STF was originally funded with a $.01 per pack cigarette tax. In 1989, this tax was raised to $.02. Today, the cigarette tax revenue, as well as excess revenue earned from sales of photo ID Cards and other funds from Oregon Department of Transportation. Originally, the law identified 33 transit districts or counties as eligible to receive the STF moneys; subsequently, in 2003, the nine federally recognized Indian Tribes in Oregon were added as eligible recipients. The resulting 42 designated entities are called “STF Agencies.” The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) Rail and Public Transit Division (RPTD) administers the funds for the State of Oregon. The STF Program is governed by: • Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 391.800 through 391.830 and • Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 732. *See Appendix A for STF laws. The STF Program provides a flexible, coordinated, reliable and continuing source of revenue in support of transportation services for people who are senior and people with disabilities of any age. The Oregon Legislature intended that STF funds be used to provide transportation services needed to access health, education, work, and social/recreational opportunities so that seniors and people with disabilities may live as independently and productively as possible. The funds may be used for any purpose directly related to transportation services, including transit operations, capital equipment, planning, travel training and other transit-related purposes.

STF Advisory Committee

The Umatilla County Special Transportation (STF) Advisory Committee consists of at least five members appointed by the Umatilla County Board of Commissioners. The advisory committee meets at least twice per year or more to fulfill the duties of the program. The purpose of the committee is to advise and assist the Board of Commissioners on the distribution of funds, overall management and reporting of the funds, and the adopted coordinated plan for Umatilla County.

Advisory Committee Bylaws
View STF Advisory Bylaws

Committee Meeting Agendas and Minutes
View meeting agenda and minutes
Advisory Committee Members:

Darrin Umbarger, Chair
Virginia Beebe
Rod Harwood
Kasi Warner
Heidi Zeigler

Committee Application

Local Transit Plans

Umatilla County Coordinated Human Services Plan

Adopted by Board of Commissioners October 25, 2018

Umatilla Coordinated Human Services Plan

Morrow/Umatilla County Transit Strategies Plan

Adopted by Board of Commissioners October 25, 2018

Morrow/Umatilla County Transit Strategies
Special Transportation Fund Criteria

The STF Advisory Committee created a list of criteria to assist the members with the selection and distribution of funds to providers.

Special Transportation Fund Criteria

Umatilla County STF Formula Fund Plan 2019-2021

The Umatilla County Board of Commissioners adopted then STF Fund Plan for 2019-2021. The adopted plan is consistent with the recommendation of the STF Advisory Committee.

STF Formula Fund Plan

Additional STF Resources:

ODOT Special Transportation Fund Program Guidebook
ODOT STF Guidebook

Approved STF Oregon Administrative Rules
Administrative Rules


Special Transportation Fund: 2019 - 2021 Biennium Formula Funding Cycle

Public Transportation Service Providers (PTSP’s) are hereby notified that Umatilla County is currently accepting applications for the 2019 Special Transportation Fund (STF), Section 5310 Funds. Interested PTSP’s (see definition found in OAR 732-040-0005) who are eligible, shall complete the STF Plan Template available online at the following link: https://www.cognitoforms.com/ODOT2/specialtransportationfundapplication

If interested in Section 5310 Funds, the template is available online at the following link: https://www.cognitoforms.com/ODOT2/section5310application. Completed STF and 5310 plan templates must be submitted to Staci Kunz, STIF Coordinator, by email at stacikunz@eobusinesssource.com or mail to Eastern Oregon Business Source at 245 SE 4th Street, Pendleton Oregon 97801 by 5:00 pm on January 31, 2019.

Applications will be reviewed and ranked by the Umatilla County STF Advisory Committee in accordance with Umatilla County STF Advisory Committee Bylaws and Oregon Administrative Rules. The Advisory Committee will make a recommendation to the Umatilla County Board of Commissioners, who will determine the final selection of projects to be included in the 2019 STF Plan.

For further information concerning the above requests, please contact Staci Kunz, STIF Transit Coordinator, by telephone (541) 215-7652; or email stacikunz@eobusinesssource.com.