AGENDA ITEM FOR ADMINISTRATIVE MEETING

() Discussion only (X) Action

FROM (DEPT/ DIVISION): County Counsel

SUBJECT: Board Officers 2024

Background:	Requested Action:
As outlined in Order No. BCC2013-078 and the Charter, the Chair position rotates among the three commissioners. The proposed Chair for 2024 is Commissioners Shafer, with Commissioner Timmons as the Vice-Chair.	Adopt Order No. BCC2024-01

ATTACHMENTS: Proposed Order

**************For Internal Use Only***********

Scheduled for meeting on: January 3, 2024

Action taken:

Follow-up:

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF UMATILLA COUNTY

STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of Designation) of Chair and Vice-Chair of) Order No. BCC2024-001 Board of Commissioners for 2024)

WHEREAS Article III, Section 2, of the Umatilla County Charter requires that each year the Board of Commissioners designate one of its members its chair and one of its members its vice-chair for that year;

WHEREAS since the adoption of the Charter, the Board of Commissioners has rotated the chair and vice-chair among its members;

WHEREAS the chair, or in the chair's absence, the vice-chair, executes documents on behalf of the Board of Commissioners and Umatilla County.

NOW THEREFORE, the Board of Commissioners orders that:

1. From January 3, 2024, to January 8, 2025 (or the first Board meeting of the year, whichever occurs last), John M. Shafer is designated the Chair for the Umatilla County Board of Commissioners, and Celinda A. Timmons is designated the Vice-Chair for the Umatilla County Board of Commissioners.

2. The designation of authority to the chair, or in the absence of the chair, the vice-chair, includes, but is not limited to, signing documents on behalf of the Board of Commissioners and Umatilla County.

3. In the event of the absence of the chair and the vicechair, the remaining commissioner is authorized to sign documents on behalf of the Board of Commissioners and Umatilla County.

Order No. BCC2024-001 - Page 1 of 2

DATED this 3rd day of January, 2024.

UMATILLA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

John M. Shafer, Commissioner

Celinda A. Timmons, Commissioner

Daniel N. Dorran, Commissioner

ATTEST: OFFICE OF COUNTY RECORDS

Records Officer

Order No. BCC2024-001 - Page 2 of 2